Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Pan for baguettes?  (Read 4091 times)

Offline blue

• On Board
Pan for baguettes?
« on: June 10, 2010, 01:58:58 PM »
Hello everyone,

I've just read Hamelman's recipe for baguettes with poolish and I'd love to try it this weekend. So far, as I've not yet got a bread stone,  I've been baking my loaves in an old Le Creuset with OK results, but my round pots won't work for baguettes.

In my area I've seen perforated baguette trays from a good manufacturer (Patisse) and also non-perforated (perhaps carbon) dark grey/black trays (manufacturer?). Has anyone any advice on which type of try (perforated-v-non perforated) might work best when a hearth is not an option?

Thanks in advance,

Blue
blue

Offline Steve

• burntloafer's blog
Re: Pan for baguettes?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2010, 02:23:59 PM »
Hello Blue, and thanks for posting. 

I am just beginning to understand that everyone is learning here, even though a lot these folks are very very talented.

My personal opinion is that it only matters if you like the little dots - or not. 

I bought several baguette pans from a craigslist advert, and once I got over trying to use a really 'wet' dough in the perforated pan, it is my personal favorite. 
(Lots of warm water, and it eventually came clean.)

I got a kick out of one neighbor that thought she caught me with store-bought baguettes.  I had to produce the pan to prove it.

Offline blue

• On Board
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2010, 04:12:16 AM »
Hi Steve and thank you for your helpful reply.

You obviously make a very good baguette!

Here's hoping I can produce something passable this weekend.
blue

Offline Zeb

• Global Moderator
    • Zeb Bakes
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2010, 06:18:52 AM »
I've got those perforated pans too.  Any which way you can I say  ;D  Couche cloth, stone, hot pavement, pan.