Ray's white loaf with millet flakes

garlicbuddha

Ray's white loaf with millet flakes

Postby garlicbuddha » Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:54 am

Well I thoroughly enjoyed this first challenge. I have very little experience of making white bread with commercial yeast but was pleased with the result and it made excellent toast!

The millet flakes are worth finding as it contributes to a slightly sweet nutty flavour. I will definitely keep this in my repertoire.

No major issues came up in the baking process. I used Doves Farm dried yeast as I have found it reliable. I can get fresh yeast from the local supermarket and may try it again with that but I have not found any particular benefit from using fresh in the past. The dough mix was sticky but with the suggested resting, oiling the workspace and minimal folds it came together to make a smooth dough.

I also chose to bake one large loaf rather than two smaller ones because I like using a cane banneton for the proving stage. I had to reduce the proving times as the dough was rather lively!

Other than that I think I followed the recipe. I have a little trouble with the final shaping of the loaf (page 20 steps 7-9) I have seen some good videos on you tube - but I am not quite getting this final stage right. I think I need to see someone doing it in real life.

Its great to have started this challenge! Looking forward to the first sourdough recipe (still trying to track down the ingredients)
Last edited by garlicbuddha on Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Old_Bake_House

Re: Ray's white loaf with millet flakes

Postby Old_Bake_House » Fri Apr 06, 2012 4:55 am

Looks great! Two quick Q's - were you using fresh yeast (or dry? I'm playing with conversions these days) and what size banneton is that there?

- Susanne

garlicbuddha

Postby garlicbuddha » Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:34 am

Hi Susanne,

I used dried yeast - a teaspoon's worth.